keeping you informed

August 20, 2007

I have decided to let you know the “haps” of my life since so much has happened lately. This blog normally tells little about me and a lot about my musings. So, let me change that right now.

I am in college studying French for my major and Editing for my minor. I will probably change my major to Linguistics, though. Sometimes, I feel like college isn’t for me. I get some major anxiety about it. Usually it dissipates as I start school and get into the swing of things.

Yellow is my favorite color. Don’t you think yellow is just the happiest color?!

I love tulips.

I love learning about new languages.

I like coloring my hair. This is where I was trying to take this. So, I dye my hair myself. I just buy those box color dyes from the grocery store. It has always turned out very well. I never do any crazy color…just blond.

018.jpg

 

But, this week, I decided to be adventurous. I dyed it red. I don’t mean strawberry blond. I mean red…or orange.

n17829228_33501696_769.jpg

 

So, the color definitely took to my hair well. At first, I thought I could handle it. It’s like when I get an unexpected bad haircut, I can (and have to learn to) deal with it. I can usually make it work. But, every time I looked in the mirror, I was shocked. It looked like a wig. In the sunlight, I glowed–and not in a good way. I just don’t have the right coloring for that red of hair. Come to think of it, I don’t think anyone has that red of hair naturally. Just ask Lucille Ball.

I have dyed my hair when it has not turned out how I wanted it. So, I usually just re-do it the next day. I don’t think it’s very good for my hair. But, this time, I didn’t know what to do.

I forgot to mention that before I dyed my hair red, I tried to dye it a strawberry blond 3 days before. (That’s why I tried such a bright red color: because when I did the strawberry blond, my hair just stayed blond.) So, I thought a brighter red would yield the strawberry blond effects I initially wanted. I was sorely mistaken. I looked like Ariel (and I definitely got some unsolicited “Little Mermaid” singing thanks to my friend Nikki).

I called my mom the day after the orange incident crying because I was at a loss of what to do. I had already dyed my hair twice in one week with some very harsh chemicals. I didn’t want my hair to fall out. Plus, when it comes to hair color, when you go darker, you can just go back to blond. You have to strip the color out of your hair (very harsh) and then dye it the color you want. So, if I did that, it would be 4 very harsh procedures on my hair in one week.

I made an appointment at the local beauty school (a gamble in and of itself) for a color correction. After all, I could not live with this orange mop on my head. I showed up the next day and gave the colorists and her supervisor my whole story. I am pretty sure they could tell I was distressed because they comforted me and then got to work. I was in the shampoo chair for an hour and a half. I had chemicals and hands in my hair the whole time. I felt like I was getting surgery: there was a big blaring light over my head and a constant group of students standing over me examining the situation. I was basically a specimen to observe and learn from. It was stressful and kind of funny. I really appreciate the girls doing all they could. My hair is now at the strawberry blond color I initially wanted. It looks good, but I will take a while for it to feel better. It feels like it perpetually has tons of hairspray in it. I don’t have a picture of it. Sorry.

Moral: Never use box dyes from the grocery store. They have about 40% ammonia while the professional products have about 4%.

 

Lesson learned.

2 Responses to “keeping you informed”

  1. rubi Says:

    yay! welcome back to bloglandia. Wow…you look so good with every color hair. really. You even pulled off the red in my opinion…

    so, we were watching Lord of the Rings last night and it just reaffirmed my beliefe that you and Liv Tyler are the same person. I love it.

  2. Kos Says:

    Ah ha! I should have known all about your bright red hair. Shame on me for not reading your blog as frequently as I want to. I think the picture is actually cute. I’m a big fan of red hair. But I totally understand that you had a hard time with it. I dyed my hair bright red in high school and it was a huge change. I got teased a lot…people called me an elf. ha ha. Anyway, it’s gorgeous now. Oh, the woes of box dyes (perhaps I’ll write a blog upon the subject…)

Leave a Reply

