Arizona

October 3, 2007

Usually, I try to write something that is somewhat intellectual, but today, I just thought I would write what is going on with me (and probably go off on a couple tangents).
The past month or so has been crazy and unexpected. At the very last minute, I decided to take fall semester off. It was just something I needed. Plus, I need to just work this semester. So, I sold my housing contract, made other appropriate arrangements, and headed for Arizona to stay with my sister and her family in Phoenix.

I have been here in Arizona for almost a month now. I am never happier than when I am with my family. To me, family = comfort.

Each morning, I wake up and go downstairs to see Maddie, Carson, and Skyler watching morning cartoons. Then, the 2 older kids go off to school and I get to stay home with Skyler and Rylie. Skyler has such a great personality. He is always putting on a show. And, baby Rylie is always growing and changing. She just started saying “dadadadada” and she is army crawling all over the place.

Madddie likes to write me letters and Carson likes to copy her. Here’s what some of the letters said (spelling and mechanical errors intentional):

You ROCK! Do you HAVE to LEAVE? I CAN’T wait for are fun thing tonight when Carson and Skyler go to bed early. Your neese, Madelyn

The Carson wrote:

dear Beth I am sorry because I am not gona do anything. fun like Madelyn. because I can’t think of angthing. you know why? because I just can’t. your nefew, Carson

I just love kids!

Besides hanging out with the kids, I have enjoyed spending time with my older sister. We talk all the time about everything. I have learned so much from her. I am always taking mental notes about what I want to do when I am a mother and she is such a great example. I always learn new things from her. She is an amazing mother and sister.

My mom is coming here tomorrow to pick me up and take me to CA. I so miss the crisp fall weather that does not come to Phoenix, so I am excited to get home and take walks and watch the trees change colors. I am excited to wear a sweater. I love the holiday season at home in CA. There is nothing like it.

2 Responses to “Arizona”

  1. Nikki Says:

    beth…. sounds so fun and refreshing. i miss you.

  2. kos Says:

    I love the fall too! It sounds like you’ve had such a good experience in AZ this fall. I’m so glad. But, you are missed here. It’s just not the same without you.

    I love the letters the kids write you. so adorable. One day we’re all going to have some of those!

Leave a Reply

