My cup of tea.

December 7, 2007

fan2007410_veer.jpg

I sometimes compartmentalize my life. Actually, it’s easier for me to compartmentalize it when I look back. Like:
– The time when I believed in Santa, the Tooth Fairy, etc.

-The time when I hung out with Adri, Jessie Luni, and Gina Landes.

-The time when I took the bus to school.

-The time when I could still play with Barbies, have tea parties, and play olden days with my friends.

I have created a new compartment. I call it, “The time when I actually liked old movies.” In Provo, it is simply unheard of to be a girl and to not like the Pride & Prejudice movie. You can imagine my chagrin when I told my peers that the movie (or the book for that matter) was simply not my cup o’ tea. I have to admit, however, that I have never seen the movie and I had given the book a less-than-fair chance; I think I only read 3 chapters in high school.

But, I am learning to appreciate a new genre. It does not really cater to the Pride and Prejudice loving, Anne of Green Gables crazed, Little House on the Prairie devoted people, although they are not exempt. I have taken a liking to the movies that were made from the 40s to the 60s. Some that I love are:

Same Time Next Year

-What A Way to Go

-Move Over, Darling

-It’s A Wonderful Life

-Mr. Smith Goes to Washington

-An Affair to Remember

I first saw It’s A Wonderful Life and I was immediately drawn to the simpler times and the romance. My old-movie adventure took off from there. I love the acting of Jimmy Stewart, James Garner, Doris Day, Shirley McClaine, etc. I love Dick Van Dyke. I love the music. The sets. The old Hollywood feel. These movies make me feel good. They bring back an easier time that my mom  always likes to talk about.

In the past, my mom always tried to get me to watch these movies, but I was bored. This genre has been one that I have had to discover for myself. I am glad I have. I wouldn’t have it any other way.

2 Responses to “My cup of tea.”

  1. kos Says:

    I love An Affair to Remember so much. Amy and I would always talk about how the theme song to that movie would be her wedding song. It’s so good. I can’t say I’ve seen a ton of old movies though. We’ll have to watch some over the break.

  2. Keenan Says:

    I remember Mom long afternoons spent in black-and-white boresville. But recently I have been wanting to see all those movies I know I should see: Lawrence of Arabia, Citizen Cane, and yes, even Gone With the Wind. And weirdly enough I have been craving a Twilight Zone marathon. That would’ve been a great Halloween.

Leave a Reply

