The Nook.

December 19, 2007

rbp9024692_veer.jpg

I work at an accounting office. My hours are erratic so I have no specific work space. On one day, I may be at a good desk with a functional computer and another day I might be in the kitchen working at the table there. Yesterday, I ended up in a cave in the back of the office. There is a cubicle that is squished up against the back wall. I could fall asleep back there and nobody would notice.

I was sitting in that little isolated cubbyhole yesterday and my eyes wandered.

I should also mention that this cubicle is pressed up against a library of sorts. It’s actually just a floor-to-ceiling bookshelf riddled with ridiculously over-sized reference books for computer programs and accounting procedures. Frankly, it made me a little nauseous.

Some of the more bromidic and expected titles included SEC Accounting Guide, Ten-Day MBA, and Fraud Examination for Managers and Auditors. Real page-turners, right?

But then, I saw some books that looked like they were lost. They must have been stow aways in a box somewhere. One title that looked especially out of place was Prose Poems by Kahlil Gibran.

Since nobody ever comes back there, I pulled it from the shelf. It was old. I mean really old. The cover was made of tired fabric and it was discolored and dingy. The binding was old and the pages varied in size. I could tell that it was a gift because someone wrote a really heartfelt message inside the cover.

Inside it’s pages were some really engaging poems. I was shocked to see such an alluring piece of literature among those humdrum manuals. I wanted to take it home and read it. I would bring it back and no one would ever know the difference. But, I just couldn’t bring myself to do it.

Maybe next time.

3 Responses to “The Nook.”

  1. Keenan Says:

    Just ask. I am sure they will happily lend that lil’ treasure.

  2. zemp Says:

    You’re an amazing writer. Thanks for blogging.

    /.jz

Leave a Reply

