The Million Dollar Question

January 11, 2008

What makes me happy?

I was recently asked this question, and to my utter shock, I could not answer it for the life of me! What makes me tick? What makes each day interesting and full?

What makes me happy?

What makes me happy?

What makes me happy?

What makes me happy?

What makes me happy?

Mmm….I thought if I changed the emphasis of the words, it would be easier to answer. But, no. What a scary thought!

I know some of you will leave comments or think of things that would make one happy like “laughing” and “ice cream” and “shopping”, but I am not waking up every morning thinking Oh goody! I get to laugh today! Life is complete! Don’t get me wrong; I like to laugh. It is just not a driving force in my life. Maybe it sounds cynical. But, I want to find out what REALLY makes me tick.  What really makes me feel full and complete.

I still don’t know. Maybe it will come with time.

I certainly hope so.

4 Responses to “The Million Dollar Question”

  1. Keenan Says:

    the toughest of tough questions. I think it is one that no one knows the answer to. Progress seems to be an underlying principle in true happiness, be it mental, spiritual, or physical. But who knows.

  2. koseli Says:

    I get a little bit here and there. Happiness has to come from several different places in order for me to be fulfilled. Religion, Keenan, siblings, parents, exercise. The feeling of overcoming a great obstacle almost makes me feel happy because it makes me breathe a sigh of relief, or satisfaction that I’ve done something I didn’t think I could do.

    Other people make me really happy. Just watching people is so interesting. (NYC!)


  3. Love is what makes me happy…loving relationships with the people in my life and with my self. I love myself when I exercise and feel the strength of my body with my soul. I love myself when I am aware of what doesn’t make me happy and then choose to leave it behind. I love to connect with friends and family and husband. Being liked makes me happy.It also makes me incredibly happy to find a new thing I love…500 thread count sheets, a new author, food place…blog:) I got here thru Kristen Muirhead so forgive me for writing. I just spent a month anwsering this question for myself and couldn’t help but reply. Thanks.

  4. collinevan Says:

    If you get an answer, you’ve figured life out.

    What makes me happy is processes. Sometimes, the end result of something I’m going for is only sweetened by the trip there. I mean, you know me well and you know that my life decisions tend to be risky. I don’t do what I do because I want to be noticed. I do it because it makes me happy. I like to put it on the line and see what happens.

    I guess I’m just saying that I could get caught up in all the crap that happens in the process, because every step of my life has struggle. But it’s the challenge of learning to smile in the face of difficult odds and eventually learning to see my endeavors as successes that makes me happy. I like the process of living.

    Wow, that made less sense at the end than it did when I started. Apparently my new challenge is clear thinking.

Leave a Reply

