ouch

February 27, 2008

bxp0033540_veer.jpg

Okay. I have to tell you a story. It’s a rather sad tale of unfortunate events. Let me explain.

About a month ago, I was on my way back from class. It had snowed that morning. I was wearing shoes that were lacking in the traction department. If you know me, you know that I am less than coordinated. Can you see where this is going?

So, I am walking down from campus (emphasis on down). I took one step to cross the street and I completely ate it!

Sadly, this is far from the worst part.

Wanting to die, I quickly picked myself up, brushed the snow off of my jeans, and continued. I got 10 yards past the first fall and fell again! Now I was not only embarrassed but I was mad. My jeans were soaking and I was nearly 5 blocks from home in 10 degree weather.

Any physical pain I had was completely overpowered by my bruised ego.

I wanted to get home, and fast! I headed down the walkway in that parking lot across from J-Dawg’s. At some point, I stopped walking and everything became fuzzy. I couldn’t hear very well and I remember being frustrated because I couldn’t sit down. I recognized the feeling. I was about to pass out.

I was so tempted to sit down in the middle of the walkway in the slushy snow with people walking by. I just needed to sit or else I was going to fall. I leaned against the bushes and just thought to myself What am I going to do?

Just then, some guy asked, “Are you okay?” I mumbled something and before I knew it, he and a girl were walking me home. They each held me up and asked me funny questions like, “Do you know your name?”. They ended up taking me to my brother’s apartment where I found comfort in sitting.

So, I am just grateful that those 2 people helped me. I am still not sure what exactly is wrong with me. I got an EKG and a blood test and it all checked out fine. The only negative side effect of this situation has to be my new found fear of slipping. Why did BYU have to be built on a hill?!

It’s just weird that I fell and then I felt faint. Shouldn’t it be the other way around?

Oh well. Good thing spring is on it’s way!

4 Responses to “ouch”

  1. kos Says:

    Ugh…such a horrible situation. I’m glad you’re ok though. It’s made a great blog post though….

    Spring is coming!

  2. Keenan Says:

    I’m sure one day it will only be funny…and I’m sure that day is today.

  3. kristen Says:

    sorry to hear about your fall! I am having flashbacks of a post of Rachels…BYU needs to do something about that hill.

  4. kos Says:

    I love the new look, Beth. it’s very bright and happy. like you.

Leave a Reply

