Callings and happenings.

October 7, 2008

This post is more for me than anything else. And being that the same three people who read my blog already know about this, I thought I would put this here for my needs. I took an excerpt form my journal. Enjoy.

Here is the news: My mission call came.

I was getting really frustrated because Michael Pyne’s call came more than a week before mine and our papers were sent to SLC the same day. He is going to Chile. Every day, I was disappointed when the call was not in the mailbox. Then, Saturday (10/4/08), my mom and I were at Walmart getting groceries for Sunday dinner. My dad called and told my mom that my call was there. My heart skipped a beat. Because it was looming over my head, I was so so so so nervous! We got home and didn’t even bring in the groceries. Everyone gathered around the table (including Curt and Cameron’s friend, Matt) and Collin, Holly and Adri were on the phones. Keenan was ready with his digital camera. I opened the mission call, flipped it over quickly to make sure it was real, turned it back to the blank side and exclaimed, “This is actually it!” Ready to read it, I turned it back to the side with the text and began to read:

Dear Sister Cummings, You are hereby called to serve as a missionary of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints.

At this point, the magnitude of the situation got the best of me and I got a bit emotional. I was so embarrassed to get teary in front of everybody (I am sure Cameron’s friend thought the whole situation in and of itself was a bit bizarre) but I kept reading.

You are assigned to labor in the Utah Salt Lake City Temple Square Mission.

Adri screamed through the speaker of Koseli’s phone. I was shocked. I am sure my face said it all. I scrolled down looking for my departure date. I was sure (because many people had assured me) that I would be leaving after the holidays. Michael is leaving on January 7th, so I was sure I would be leaving sometime near that.

You should report to the Missionary Training Center at Provo, Utah on Wednesday, 19 November 2008. You will prepare to preach the gospel in the English language.

I must admit I was initially sad that I would miss the holidays. I love the holidays at home. I won’t get to help my mom shop and cook and decorate. And I was sure that the fact that I have taken 7 years of French would have some bearings on my call. I guess you can never tell.

Here are some pictures that Keenan and Koseli took:

^ Me apologizing for getting emotional. Then getting emotional.

^ There it is. My mission call.

^ HA! I kind of love this one. It really says it all. This is me discovering how soon I am leaving. That reaction is 100% real.

After some time has passed, I am more at peace and way excited to go! I can’t wait.

 

9 Responses to “Callings and happenings.”

  1. sirikosc Says:

    That was SUCH an exciting moment. I’m so happy the pictures captured your emotion and excitement, too. I can’t believe it’s really happening!

  2. smelly Says:

    Beth! your too cute! i love the realistic pictures! im so excited for you!

    ~kell

  3. holly Says:

    The more I think about your call I think it is perfect for you and will be awesome! Plus Madelyn is convinced that since you’re in Utah that we will visit you all the time. Like the once a year we might go to Utah…I’m selfishly relieved cuz not seeing you for 18 months is unbearable. I’ll try and have a baby while you’re gone and then find a reason to visit Utah, and of course visit Temple Square. Maybe the Lord knew how much we all love you and are going to miss you, that this is a compromise to have a tiny bit of access to you. I love it!!!!

  4. smelly Says:

    hey I tagged you! I know I hate these things to but it was pretty fun! now its your turn! Can’t wait to read yours!!

  5. collin Says:

    Boof!

    First of all, hahahahaha. I’m more than stoked at your call. And I love the picture of you getting embarrassed about crying, and then going on to cry. Hey, it’s a crazy moment. Hard not to get choked up.

    Second, I wouldn’t be so sure about the French. Temple Square is a hub and from what I hear about it, you’ll deal with so many foreigners you won’t know what country you’re in. Also consider the fact that French is one of the most world wide languages.

    I have a hunch you’ll be speaking plenty of French.

    I think you’re in for a crazy thing. Temple Square really isn’t like serving any other visitor center. Lets also not forget that you’re in one of the highest baptizing missions in the world and that you’ll likely never have to tract. Referrals galore.. and people coming to you to hear the gospel!?!? It’s a dream, nothing less.

  6. keenan Says:

    Yo yo yo! We were just at T-Square and it is a heavenly place. I am so excited for you. I wish we could come up to see you off to the MTC, but we will be up here at Christmas and will come and visit you and the lights. Congrats!

  7. Emma Arnquist Says:

    That’s so cool! I got my call the monday the 6th of october. And I’ve takin about 7 years of french too! I’m accually really excited to be at Temple Square for the Holidays cause I hear it’s really beautiful and we’ll probably get to go to the Christmas spacacular in the conference center! Right now I’m getting frustrated cause I can’t find any good mission clothes, I think I might have to come out to Utah early to shop.

  8. amber Says:

    beth! this is amber troutman! we stayed at your house with keenan and koseli back in june, remember! i followed the link from koseli’s blog to find out where you’re going…congrats! i’m so excited for you! they always say the super cute sisters are called to temple square…it’s so true! best of luck! maybe we’ll see you there…

  9. MizFit Says:

    wow. Ive been reading for a while now and wanted to jump into the conversation to simply say that.

    WOW.

Leave a Reply

