A Must-Read

July 12, 2007

I rarely become giddy. Even if I do, it is never outwardly shown. But once a month, I get a little bit giddy and it is evident.

Sometimes, my days drag on. Scanning paperwork and looking at a computer screen for 8 hours a day can get a bit monotonous. So at the end of my work day, I look forward to anything that will change the daily pace. Whether it be a good workout or a long nap, I need to mix things up. I am always opened to new things to try to make my day exciting. Today, it was really exciting. I entered my apartment and was hoping something exciting awaited me. I set my purse down in the living room. And, finally, after a long day, a little piece of textual heaven was waiting for me on the kitchen table:

REAL SIMPLE Magazine

6a00c2251c26488fdb00c2252a624af219-500pi.jpg


I live to read that over-sized, plastic-wrapped magazine. I am basically obsessed with REAL SIMPLE magazine. It is so good. I got a subscription for Christmas. And, it makes my month a little bit brighter.

I love the new uses for old things, recipes, road-tests, how-to’s, readers’ stories, bookmark, thought, etc. I read it cover-to-cover.

I keep each issue. It’s like a reference guide for life…how to buy life insurance, beauty shortcuts, neighbor etiquette…I could go on for days.

REAL SIMPLE has even inspired me to start my own magazine one day (I will save that story for another b.log entry). It will happen. And, I also plan on making it into the magazine on the last page entitled “real life”.

One other feature of the magazine that I must mention really contributes to the awesome-factor of the magazine. In the beginning of each section, there is a paper sculpture that represents that section. I believe that a man named Matthew Sporzynski is the artist. It is 100% made out of paper. Read the magazine to see more detailed ones.

389.jpg

Here is another:

nutcracker.jpg

And yet another:

388.jpg

That’s my schpeel. I am going to look into BLUEPRINT Magazine too. I hear it’s a Martha Stewartish magazine for twenty-somethings. That sounds like it’s right up my alley. It sounds a little more do-able than the real Martha Stewart magazine.

I suggest you read REAL SIMPLE and love it. It has changed my life.

3 Responses to “A Must-Read”

  1. kos Says:

    Amen and amen. Real Simple is the first magazine that has ever really appealed to me, and that is why I also have a subscription(thank you Keenan!). I echo Beth’s words when I say that Real Simple brightens the mind and gladdens the heart. Blueprint is great too. I’ve gotten into it this summer because my sister-in-law helped with the initial design/brainstorm. It’s a lot more hipster than Real Simple and has a lot of hands-on ideas. It’s a great subway read.

    Beth, love the blog. Say hello to the fam for us.

    Tonight, Potter!! Wands unite!

  2. liveforlove Says:

    No ideas yet? Hmmm….

    Hey! I have an idea. My friend on myspace did this cool thing where you write 10 different things that you’ve wanted to say to 10 different people, but could never do it. You don’t write their names, but it looks pretty fun.

    Like:

    1. You are retarded. You drive me crazy, but I just put up with you because you work at the Cheesecake Factory and I like cheescake. (only now this person would know you were talking about them. so be careful.)

    or:

    2. I like you a lot but I’m too shy to tell you that.

    Well, there you go…that’s all I’ve got amigo.

    I hope the writer’s block comes to an end, and the creative juices flow once more.

  3. Jessica Says:

    I just wrote my own paen to Real Simple on my blog and then Googled “obsessed with Real Simple” to find you, knowing that there were others out there.

    Very cool that you tracked down the paper sculpture dude. He did one with a stack of pancakes with butter pats and syrup oozing down, genius.

    Enjoy your March issue!

Leave a comment